The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Another rather unusual book title.  But what an amazing book!!  Five stars.

This novel deals with the post war era (Nazi) and is written as a series of letters – neither of these two factors would normally inspire me to think that this was a book that I would enjoy. But I actually loved it!!

It’s amazing that a book can examine an issue as serious as the effects of nazi occupation and yet still be humorous and uplifting.  It makes you want to go and live on the island of Guernsey which is pretty amazing as I wasn’t really 100% sure I knew where the island actually was.

After you have read the book (or even whilst reading) you can check out this google map which is an interactive map of the island noting all the real places mentioned in the fictional novel.

You may even want to try making a potato peel pie although I doubt that many of these ingredients would have been available during war time rations.

This entry was posted in I've been reading..... Bookmark the permalink.