perks of the job

So, what are the perks of being a library assistant you might wonder?

Overseas conferences, meeting famous authors, a members box at the Gabba?

Ummm … not so much.

But yesterday I spent the day at the ByronBay Writers Festival courtesy of the library. And it was great!

The programme included a huge range of different authors and styles – from playwriters to crime fiction, book launches, panels of well known authors discussing how they write and giving their top writing tips and even an impromptu game of backyard cricket with commentary by a sports writer who has just written a book on how backyard cricket has influenced our top cricket players.  I was even able to report back to my children that I had seen Luke Nguyen judge a cooking competition.

The festival runs for three days and while I would have enjoyed the Saturday morning line up of children’s authors I was more than happy with what I managed to see on my day.

So now its back to the other perks – not having to pay overdue fees, free reserves, working in air conditioning, the challenge of helping people find exactly what they need in the vast world of Dewey and last, but not least, the joys of storytime.

I think these will keep me going for a while.

And of course all the books I now want to read:

The world beneath – Kate Kennedy

Inspector Singh series – Shamini Flint

First Tests – Steve Cannane

Life after George – Hannie Rayson

The list goes on…

This entry was posted in I've been reading..... Bookmark the permalink.