40

Turning forty has been so much action packed fun that I have hardly had time to turn on my computer.

Thanks to my lovely family who helped make my birthday so special.   We had a great time at the Ballina Food and Wine Festival where it was all you can eat and drink at any of the forty odd food and wine stalls.  The admission charge went to charity and we were all well and truly full by the time we went home.  There  was something for everyone – from chicken and meat pies to prawn dishes, stuffed zucchini flowers and duck breast with beetroot relish for the more adventurous.  The children were entertained with balloon animals, face painting and the big red band while I was incredibly excited by the wine glasses we were all given which hang around your neck.

Possibly the best part of the day was the look on my youngest son’s face when he was told that he could go around and eat anything he wanted for the next two hours.  Pure joy!

Home for cake and presents (always fun) and homemade chinese for dinner.

I had fun decorating this cake with piped chocolate flowers.  They are pretty easy to make and look great!

The trial mud cake recipe wasn’t too bad but was certainly an adults cake!

Despite our afternoon of eating we managed to fit in some cake and coffee with some birthday wishing friends who came for afternoon tea.

Time to enjoy my new presents.  Should I start with the wine,  West Wing series,  new running shoes, publisher programme, TV watching blanket……  or maybe a combination of some of the above.

I’m sure you can guess the winning combination!

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.